Professor Steve Cornwell

Posted: December 9, 2015
Category: IAB, People, Specialist Area: Language Learning

International Director of Programme: Language Learning
Osaka Jogakuin University, Japan


Steve Cornwell is Professor of English and Interdisciplinary Studies at Osaka Jogakuin University, and also teaches in the online portion of the MATESOL Programme for the New School in New York. He helped write and design several of the New School courses and has been involved with the Programme since its inception. He is involved with the Japan Association for Language Teaching (JALT) (an affiliate of IAFOR) severing on its National Board of Directors (Director of Programme); his duties involve working with a volunteer team of 50+ to put on JALT’s annual, international conference each fall. Most recently, since 2012 he has been the Committee Chair of Osaka Jogakuin University’s Lifelong Learning Committee and is responsible for their evening extension Programme geared at alumni and community members. He is also the Vice-Chair of Osaka Jogakuin University’s English Education Committee which is responsible for suggesting policy regarding English Education and also responsible for developing material for the integrated curriculum. This year he is serving as country coordinator for Teachers Helping Teachers’ Bangladesh Team. Teachers Helping Teachers is a special interest group of JALT and has been working closely with the Bangladesh English Language Teaching Association (BELTA) for several years jointly putting on professional development events for English teachers in Bangladesh. An American who has made Osaka his home, Professor Cornwell first became involved with IAFOR as a featured speaker at the first ACE conference in 2009, and has gradually become more involved in the organization, and in his capacity of Local Conference Chair, now assists in the logistical and administrative side of every event.

Associated IAB Members:

Dr. Shamim Ali (Allama Iqbal Open University, Pakistan)
Dr. David McLoughlin (Meiji University, Japan)
Professor Marjo Hannele Mitsutomi (Osaka Gakuin University)
Dr. Ebru Melek KOÇ (Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey)
Professor Kuniko Miyanaga (Human Potential Institute & Harvard University, USA)
Dr. Jo Mynard (Kanda University of International Studies, Japan)
Professor Michiko Nakano (Waseda University, Japan)
Professor Svetlana Ter Minasova (Moscow State University, Russia)
Professor Kensaku Yoshida (Sophia University, Japan)

Associated Events:

The IAFOR Asian Conference on Language Learning (2011 onwards)
The IAFOR European Conference on Language Learning (2013 onwards)

Associated Publications:

The IAFOR Journal of Language Learning
Editor: Dr. Ebru Melek KOÇ (Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey)

Go to top

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Related Articles: