2018 IAFOR Hawaii Conference Series – Executive Summary

“Surviving and Thriving in Times of Change”

January 4–6, 2018 | The Hawai'i Convention Center, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

IAFOR has successfully concluded its 2018 Hawaii Conference Series in Honolulu, Hawaii (January 4-6) – a multidisciplinary event comprised of The IAFOR International Conference on Education – Hawaii (IICEHawaii) and The IAFOR International Conference on Sustainability, Energy & the Environment – Hawaii (IICSEEHawaii). This year, these conferences attracted over 250 participants from more than 40 countries, and delegates from six continents – Asia, North America, South America, Europe, Africa, and Oceania – with diverse representations of scholars and leaders from multiple disciplinary backgrounds.

A highlight of an IAFOR conference is for scholars from all over the world to interact, connect and engage during the lively discussion in sessions, and during the many social and networking breaks. Scholars and practitioners found similar research interests, new ideas, and discussed innovative models, while gaining unexpected insights and expanding their horizons. Many met like-minded and kindred spirits and established future connections in professional research, discussed institutional partnerships, and started pursuing sustainable international collaboration.

IAFOR Chairman and CEO, Dr Joseph Haldane opened the conference with an address on the theme of “Surviving and Thriving in Times of Change”, referencing the many current global changes and challenges. The three keynote speakers, Dr Failautusi Avegalio, Jr. from the University of Hawaii-Manoa, Dr Xiaoyan Liang from the World Bank, and Dr Richard R. Vuylsteke, President of the East West Center, provided profound insights and wisdom, that set the tone and laid a solid foundation for this year’s meeting. Their speeches engaged varied metaphysical lenses, offered real life examples of a wide range of experiences, and raised thought-provoking questions for us to ponder. They complimented one another, emphasised the serious issues of educational equity, equality, diversity and direction, and also pointing out the needs for innovative and constructive models.

In the subsequent parallel panels and presentations, participants addressed the complexity of global education at all levels in many fields, and on numerous subjects at the intersection of education and sustainability. Other plenary speakers throughout the conference included Professor Hiagi Wesley of Brigham Young University Hawaii, Dr Sela Panapasa of the University of Michigan, Dr Sheri-Ann Daniels of Papa Ola Lōkahi, Professor Andy Curtis of Anaheim University, and Professor David P. Ericson of the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Learn more about our 2018 speakers.

View Conference Photographs

Our warmest congratulations go to Shaohua Pei, recipient of the Stuart D. B. Picken Grant & Scholarship, and Suvendu Biswas and Anna Bajema, recipients of IAFOR Scholarships, who were selected by the conference Organising Committee to receive financial support to present their research at the conference.

We would like to give our thanks to all the participants for attending this conference, and your active participation throughout. Your presence brought the highest engagement and quality. Thanks go to our keynote speakers, featured panelists, and presenters; to the 2018 Organising Committee for working over the past year to put this conference together; and to the entire conference team, including Kiyoshi Mana and Thaddeus Pope at the event, and Alexander Pratt, Nick Potts and all the members of the administrative team back in Nagoya for their hard work, dedication, and true professionalism.

As we speak, preparations for the 2019 Hawaii Conference Series in Hawaii are underway. We appreciate your insight, feedback, and input to build on our success this year to consolidate the role of The International Academic Forum as a leading force in global education.

Mahalo! Have a great 2018! And until we meet again!

For, and on behalf of the 2018 Conference Committee

Dr Xu Di, University of Hawai’i at Manoa, USA
Dr Curtis Ho, University of Hawai’i at Manoa, USA

Posted by IAFOR